Book Review: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

gonegirl

Full disclosure: I was bored out of my mind for the first 50-100 pages of this book. I just couldn’t bring myself to care about Nick or what was happening in his life. However, I kept going because I have to finish books once I start them. I just have to. It’s sort of masochistic, because if a book is bad I have to suck it up and deal with it until it’s over and I can give it away to some poor, unsuspecting friend (cue malevolent laugh).

This time, however, my slight neurosis worked in my favor. Because not only did the book turn out to be really good… It turned out to be EXCELLENT.

What really gets me about this book, what Flynn managed to do which is really strange and really, really interesting, is that she managed to create these awful, super addictive characters that you can somewhat relate to, even in their darkest form. I’m not saying everyone is a psycopath. I’m just saying everyone has been sort of angry sometimes, or felt sort of vengeful, right? Not to that extreme, but the feeling was there. Maybe the thought of doing something, even?

Of course I could go on a righteous rant and say how Nick and Amy are terrible and how they deserve each other. Yes, they’re horrible people. They take their darkness to the limits and then shatter those limits and go beyond.

Boy is it creepy.

And also super entertaining.

More disclosure: I got played. I didn’t see any of the plot twists coming. And of course, since I’m kind of a narcissist, I thought I knew who the “killer” was right away. I was like, “This is stupid. This is so obvious. I GOT this.”
But I didn’t got this. Not even a little bit. Maybe it’s because I don’t think like a sociopath. I don’t know, but I liked being completely surprised. I liked that I had to throw the book to the other side of the room after getting to the middle of it (where there’s a plot twist) and go HOLY CRAP ON A CRACKER. Because seriously… Holy crap on a cracker.

Few books get that reaction from me, and for that reaction alone, this book wins my ever-so-coveted literary approval.

Because Gillian, you have skills, girl. Kudos to you.

Leave a Reply

