Vikings season 3 episode 10: The Dead review

Princess-Gisla-MORGANE-POLANSKI-Emperor-Charles-LOTHAIRE-BLUTEAU-Count-Odo-OWEN-ROE

After the success of my 2014 blog post Ragnar Lothbrok from Vikings: A Character Study (the second most viewed post in this blog; the first one being, quite interestingly, Claude Monet & Me), I decided to do an episode by episode review of Vikings season 3. It’s easily one of the best shows on TV right now, and I thought it would be fun.

If you have watched all of Vikings season 3 and there’s nothing left to spoil, feel free to check out my reviews:

Episode 1: Mercenary

Episode 3: A Warrior’s Fate

Episode 4: Scarred

Episode 5: The Usurper

Episode 6: Born Again

Episode 7: Paris

Episode 8: To the Gates

Episode 9: Baptism

Ermm… I seem to have skipped episode 2. Whoops.

And now, I’m finally reviewing Vikings season 3 episode 10, ‘The Dead’. Yes, it’s a little late for that, but better late than never, right?

In The Dead, we learn that Ragnar got baptized in order for the French to bury his body inside Paris (as a converted northman). Only he wasn’t dead at all, but faking it. And so, Ragnar wins and the Vikings plunder Paris.

What’s interesting about this episode is how Lagertha, Floki and Rollo reacted to Ragnar being dead. We learn that Lagertha is still in love with him, that Floki adores Ragnar, and that Rollo has never gotten over his jealousy of his little brother. At least everything is out in the open, but of course I suspect Floki, and Lagertha in particular, won’t be happy about the way things played out. Nobody likes being tricked.

I’m really curious to see how Ragnar’s and Aslaug’s relationship will play out. I feel really sorry for the gal, seeing as she hasn’t yet achieved the domestic bliss she pines for within her marriage. But also, I’m really interested in seeing how she owns the role of Queen of the Vikings in the future. Aslaug is someone with a-lot of natural power. She has poise, she has presence, she has beauty… She is the daughter of two viking heroes, after all (the legendary Sigurd and Brunhilde). But enough said about a character which only *I* seem to like.

At first I thought killing Athelstan had been a huge mistake. I even threw a little fit in my episode 6 review, saying it was decisions like these which will prove to be the undoing of Ragnar as a ruler. I may have said that a little too rashly, but dammit, Athelstan was my favorite character, after all. While it still pains me that he’s gone, I am actually looking forward to Ragnar and Floki rebuilding their relationship. I’m glad Ragnar got Floki’s punishment out of the way pretty quickly. I am curious to see how Floki will develop. All in all, he’s still one of my favorite characters. He’s incredibly entertaining and no one can take that away from him.

Rollo’s an idiot, and I’m tired of him. While it was pretty funny how he reacted to Princess Gisla’s insults, it’s not funny how he suddenly decided to turn against his brother. However, kudos to Michael Hirst for tying what happened in actual history (Viking settlements in France) with the fictional Rollo’s storyline. Nicely done.

What I’m looking for in season 4:

More Bjorn (hey, that kind of rhymes). He got really cool from episode 7 onwards, and I’m looking forward to seeing how he develops as a warrior and leader of his people.

Queen Aslaug. Show us what she’s got.

Lagertha and Ragnar reuniting. Prettyyy pleasseee!!! This would be so freaking awesome and would give the fans of the show so much happiness, it’s almost a crime not to make it happen.

Rollo and Gisla. Obviously I want to see what’s up with this. Lol.

Princess Kwenthrith. Is it Ragnar’s son? Is it not? I was sure she was lying, but now I don’t know what to think.

Ragnar’s sons all grown up: They’re the stuff of legend. Im getting curiouser and curioser over seeing them on the small screen.

And that’s it folks. Stay tuned for Vikings season 4, coming out in 2016.

One thought on “Vikings season 3 episode 10: The Dead review

  1. Pingback: Suits season 5 episode 1: Denial | Monique Mihalitsianos

Leave a Reply

