Me and this Blog

I’ve had this blog for a little over a year and I haven’t really known how to treat it properly. Sometimes I aspired it to be one thing, then another. I think I focused too much on people’s perceptions. What would ‘they’ think if I wrote this? 

And then I realized I don’t even know who ‘they’ are. People who read this blog don’t necessarily have an emotional connection to me. And (excluding people who have commented more than once) I don’t necessarily have an emotional connection to them. 

So instead of focusing so much on writing in order to cause an impression, why don’t I focus instead on being honest. If I’m going to have a blog, I should be ‘myself’ about it, right?

I should let people know who I really am. And that means sharing my thoughts, reflections, knowledge, and opinions truthfully, openly, and often. Because I also like to be prolific. 

Of course I welcome other people’s comments, opinions on posts, and even debate. Just because I may or may not care about what you said doesn’t mean you shouldn’t express it.

So here’s to a new blogging era, and bright horizons. 

What is your relationship to your blog like? 

Leave a Reply

