Mandalas

The original Mandalas are Plato’s Sacred Geometric forms. Plato had the notion that Ideas were the forces that formed the universe, and from this idea came the concept of the Platonic Solids and of Sacred Geometry.

platonic solids

Ideas as Formative Forces of Nature: Platonic Solids

The geometric forms that make up Mandalas are sacred because they represent higher ideas and forces.

metatrons_cube

Metatron’s Cube*

flower_of_life

Flower of Life*

sg-6

My Third Eye*

*Cultural names.

Coloring one of these sacred geometrical forms results in the creation of a Mandala. Tibetan Monks have a very specific way of coloring mandalas with different types of colored sand, and when they are done, to show the impermanence of the universe, they wipe it all away.

tibetan monks

The creation of a Mandala is an artistic act, because the painter decides how to color their specific geometric form. Thus, they endow the Mandala with a certain mood, reflective of their inner soul urges, uniquely mirroring the creator’s spirit in some way.

Last week I went to a Wine & Mandala event in the yoga studio where I take classes and also teach, and got the chance to choose a specific Mandala to color. The form I chose was said to be a cosmic Mandala. At once I thought it resembled the Sun in the middle with the planets revolving around it, and understood why people thought this mandala to be cosmic.

I decided to color it according to a specific Intention, the transformation of my soul’s passional expression into one of gentleness. I decided to use the color of the chakras to help me in this representation, and this was the final result:

photo 1

My Mandala

The yellow at the center represents my will-power and desire to change. It is yellow because that is the color of the solar plexus chakra, the third chakra, in sanskrit called Manipura, that regulates will-power and determination.

The hexagon around it is orange to represent my emotions, which reside in the second chakra beneath the pelvis, the home of the emotions. So my desire is to change (yellow) my emotions (orange). The little triangles around the hexagon are red (2 of them) and different shades of pink (4 of them). This represents my desire to reduce passional emotions (red) and transform them into higher feelings (pink).

This transformation has to happen in the heart chakra, in sanskrit Anahata, which is green and pink. This is why the bigger petals around the center of the Mandala are green, because the transformation has to happen in the heart. The smaller petals around the center are blue, because the effects of this transformation can be seen through my communication and relationship with the world, which is related to my throat chakra, which is blue and celeste.

My communication is represented by the blue circle, which is laced by a yellow square with 4 big pink circles and 4 small red circles contained within it. This represents my continued intention (yellow) to have all my communications (celeste) framed by more gentility (big pink circles) and less passional reactions (small red circles).

Finally, we have four purple corners, which is the color of the crown chakra, in sanskrit AUM, which connects us to divinity. Purple is the color representing divine transformation.

In retrospective, I would have also colored the small petals purple, instead of dark blue, to represent transformation starting from within and expanding without. But it’s good the way it is.

I also got a Henna Mandala Tattoo of a yin / yang symbol on fire, representing the opposing yet complementary forces of the universe uniting to create something magical. This is sort of how I feel sometimes with people in my community who have different approaches to spirituality than I do. Some of them are very new-age, which I’m not, and others choose to explore their spirituality through sub-conscious means, which I don’t condone or believe in at all (For more on this, see my post Rules for Esoteric Research; you can skip the beginning and go directly to the first rule).

photo 2 (1)

Yin Yang on Fire, smoke

But this is what we have. And it’s better to have some approach to spirituality than none at all. So I mingle and talk to people and choose to have an open mind and heart and share my truths while listening to their reflections and focus on the person speaking rather than the idea, inwardly silencing all opposition and also agreement so I can access their emotional and mental state more objectively.

In other words, I choose to connect with the person rather than debate their ideas, and this is way more important in a community than to seek to impose my points of view on others. Hence, the yin yang on fire, creating beautiful patterns of smoke.

Leave a Reply

