New Year’s Resolutions for 2017

Some people don’t believe in New Year’s Resolutions because people generally never keep them—but I do personally believe in the power of setting goals and in the energy of the New Year.

So in order to prepare myself for 2017, I have drafted the following New Year’s Resolutions (in no specific order of importance—they are all equally important):

  1. I want to become a better person to those people that surround me in my daily life. I’m not a bad person, but I know I could be better. I know I could be more patient, and more attentive, and kinder and less hostile (at times). I love my family and friends to death and I want to be able to give more of myself to them… the best parts of myself.
  1. I want to spend less time on Social Media. Perhaps check Facebook and Instagram (my platforms of choice) one or two times a day, tops. I want to disconnect myself a bit from the virtual world and focus more on my day-to-day duties, activities, and once again, the wonderful people that I am blessed to be surrounded with.
  1. I’m an Artist… I was born one, I always have been. Ever since I was little I have drawn, painted, made music, written poetry, written novels. Lately I have kind of pushed this to the side, and it has made me unhappy. One of the benefits of not spending that much time on Social Media will be that I will have more time to focus on my Art. I want to produce Art, I want to make Art… I want to take this part of myself, this essence of myself, seriously. It’s something I was born with, a gift from God, and it feels wrong to ignore it.
  1. I want to keep working out, doing sports, and drop about 10-15 lbs. I know I’m in shape, but in 2017 I honestly want to get in THE BEST SHAPE OF MY LIFE. Sounds shallow? Not to me. My body is my temple. I want to eat right and take care of myself so I have the energy and right disposition to take care of others.
  1. I want to keep learning the Law. I don’t think I’ll go back to School for a Master’s, at least not for now, but I want to dedicate some time each day to researching and learning the Law and honing my skills as a professional. The Law is such a vast area of study, and it demands so much from those who choose to answer its calling. I want to be up for it. I want to fulfill my Purpose as a Lawyer—the profession I chose.

Basically, this is it! These are my New Year’s Resolutions. I am making them public to hold myself accountable. Once something is made public, I am answerable to it, which is what I want.

Wishing everyone a Happy 2017! See you all next year 😉

 

Leave a Reply

