Spiritual Science

spiritual science

‘Spiritual science’ is a term coined originally by Rudolf Steiner, a 19th century philosopher, to designate the systematic approach to understand the spiritual universe with the same integrity and coherence, as one would approach the natural universe through natural science.

In spiritual science, the study of the spiritual world is based on the systematic application of 4 basic exercises:

  1. Meditation
  2. Observation
  3. Reflection
  4. Devotion

In turn, the spiritual world unfolds itself through the development of three distinct soul-forces:

  1. Imagination
  2. Inspiration
  3. Intuition

For more on this subject, please read the blog posts under this category.

Stay Spiritual.

3 thoughts on “Spiritual Science

  1. Pingback: Introduction | FJ Gottlieb

  2. Hmm, I’m a bit confused about the name and url change but based on your intro page,it’s still the same blog with the same writer 🙂

    I have been a few times in a situation when I was faced with the questions: “What is this anthroposophy you so highly value?” and I very often think about how to answer it. To be honest, I have failed so far to answer this question to those friends who asked.

    I would like to come up with something that is not just an empty shell that means almost nothing for the person asking without spiritual background (or with a totally different one) like the very lofty but cloudy ones. E.g.: “it is a system that tells you what can be known of humans as spiritual beings” – in a way that is true but by itself it does not give any pieces of knowledge because then the person would ask: “OK, but what is that can be known?”

    Then you’re back to square one because you are still in the starting position to think about how to start saying anything about that very complex legacy of Rudolf Steiner.

    Last week I think I found a less complex but due to exactly that, a more pragmatic starting point! I’d appreciate if you could send me an email (I think my email is visible for you when you moderate the comment? If not, let me know!) and we can get in touch to flash it out if you find it interesting to cooperate with me 😉 I know I know, we would start creating karma over the internet, but maybe it’s for the good so it can be worthwhile risking it! :o)
    /I hope you don’t take my ironical sense of humour as an offense, it wasn’t my intention at all, I just love flipping things and refer to them from a sarcastic perspective./

    • This is something I have been struggling with for a while: How to bring the most important contents–the essence–of esoteric knowledge to the masses in a way that they can truly benefit from it? Anthroposophy, and any other form of doctrinal esoteric knowledge, really, can be complicated and it can take months, if not years, of study to structure it internally and be able to make sense of it, and not everyone in this world has the opportunity to study it properly, or is intellectually open to its ideas… while at the same time, these very people could be on a soul level (not an intellectual one) where they are ready to receive the fruits of such spiritual knowledge, while maybe not the doctrine. So it creates a dichotomy.

      In this sense, I think Steiner had it right when he believed that the two basic tenets of “Karma” and “Reeincarnation” were the most important concepts for the general populace to acquire. If the whole world knew about Karma, and if they were convinced that after they died they were going to reeincarnate again on the very earth that they helped shape and mold in their last lives, their actions would hopefully be very different than they are now.

Leave a Reply

